Bob Mondello http://mtpr.net en Mickey Rooney, All-American Boy For More Than 90 Years, Dies http://mtpr.net/post/mickey-rooney-all-american-boy-more-90-years-dies Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Mickey Rooney, who lived a long life on stage and screen, died last night at his home in Los Angeles. He was 93. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 17296 at http://mtpr.net Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://mtpr.net/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 16873 at http://mtpr.net Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://mtpr.net/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 15891 at http://mtpr.net Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://mtpr.net/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 15703 at http://mtpr.net On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances http://mtpr.net/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-and-his-many-appearances <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRud1so-Z-M</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 14490 at http://mtpr.net On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud http://mtpr.net/post/century-ago-today-chaplin-made-his-film-debut-dud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LoLw4TJKdU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j2K3A1S5ak</p> Sun, 02 Feb 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 14451 at http://mtpr.net A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role http://mtpr.net/post/peter-otoole-exuberant-lawrence-his-last-role Blond, blue-eyed and wearing blazing white robes in <em>Lawrence Of Arabia</em>, Peter O'Toole was handsome enough — many said beautiful enough — to carry off the scene in which director David Lean simultaneously made stars of both his title character and his leading man.<p>The scene: a wrecked train, blown up by Lawrence and surrounded by his Bedouin followers, one of whom has just smashed a news photographer's camera. O'Toole's Lawrence explains that the man thinks the camera will steal his soul. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 07:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 12476 at http://mtpr.net Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' http://mtpr.net/post/chasing-money-and-meaning-nebraska Woody Grant has white hair, a cranky disposition and a stubbornness that just won't quit. When we meet him, he's being stopped by a highway patrolman as he's walking down the shoulder of a Montana interstate. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 11073 at http://mtpr.net Chasing Money, And Meaning, In 'Nebraska' Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights http://mtpr.net/post/biography-director-bob-fosse-razzles-dazzles-and-delights <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuTPupqrTDo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX-24Zm0bjk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oF0I-9p_yDM</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 20:57:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10796 at http://mtpr.net Biography Of Director Bob Fosse Razzles, Dazzles And Delights This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat http://mtpr.net/post/time-supernatural-love-story-falls-flat There's a phrase in French — "<em>L'esprit de l'escalier</em>," meaning "staircase wit" — for that moment when you've lost an argument and are walking away, and <em>waaay</em> too late, think of the perfect comeback. If you could just rewind your life a few minutes, you'd win the argument.<p>That's pretty much the setup in the new British comedy <em>About Time</em>.<p>We meet shy, young Tim (Domhnall Gleeson) as he's making a total mess of an opportunity to kiss a girl on New Year's Eve. Sat, 02 Nov 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 10574 at http://mtpr.net This 'Time,' Supernatural Love Story Falls Flat