Jim Zarroli http://mtpr.net en Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes http://mtpr.net/post/taking-money-overseas-round-trip-avoid-taxes Some investors avoid paying taxes in a move called round-tripping — sending money offshore, then investing it in U.S. stocks or bonds. A study estimates it costs the U.S. billions in lost revenues.<p>Recently, MIT professor Michelle Hanlon and two colleagues set out to find out all they could about round-tripping.<p>"I think it's a big problem in the U.S. tax system that individuals can evade taxes and that they try to do so offshore," Hanlon says. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 17685 at http://mtpr.net Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes With Proposed Mega-Merger On The Hill, Spotlight's On Consumers http://mtpr.net/post/proposed-mega-merger-hill-spotlights-consumers Comcast and Time Warner executives ran into stiff opposition as they pitched their proposed merger to the Senate Judiciary Committee. The deal would give the combined company a large share of both pay TV and broadband internet service markets. In both cases, lawmakers wanted to know how consumers would be affected. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 17419 at http://mtpr.net New Rules Force Big Banks To Keep A Bigger Cushion http://mtpr.net/post/new-rules-force-big-banks-keep-bigger-cushion Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Five and a half years after the financial crisis that devastated the global economy, U.S. officials are taking steps to strengthen the nation's banking system. Today, the Federal Reserve and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation approved tough new rules that require banks to hold a lot more capital on their books. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 17353 at http://mtpr.net Traders Defend High-Speed Systems Against Charges Of Rigging http://mtpr.net/post/traders-defend-high-speed-systems-against-charges-rigging The FBI and the Securities and Exchange Commission revealed this week that they're both investigating the world of high-frequency stock trading. They did so at a time when a new book on the subject, <em>Flash Boys</em> by Michael Lewis, is causing an uproar on Wall Street.<p>To read Lewis' book is to be reminded of how drastically the stock market has changed in a decade — and how opaque it remains. Lewis says this opacity serves to cover up some disturbing developments.<p>"The stock market is rigged. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:53:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 17105 at http://mtpr.net Traders Defend High-Speed Systems Against Charges Of Rigging American-Made, Haven-Kept? Congress Looks At Caterpillar's Tax Returns http://mtpr.net/post/american-made-haven-kept-congress-looks-caterpillars-tax-returns Caterpillar executives are on Capitol Hill answering questions about the company's tax returns. Caterpillar is accused of shifting money abroad to avoid billions in taxes. Company officials say Caterpillar has followed the law. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 17032 at http://mtpr.net Russia's Energy Market Heft Leaves Neighbors Unsettled http://mtpr.net/post/russias-energy-market-heft-leaves-neighbors-unsettled Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The crisis in Ukraine is raising new questions about Russia's role in the energy markets. Moscow has long used exports of oil and natural gas to win political concessions from countries on its borders. Europe gets a quarter of its natural gas from Russia.<p>As NPR's Jim Zarroli reports, that's making a lot of people there nervous.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: Russia's oil and gas supplies are a huge part of what keeps its economy going. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 16866 at http://mtpr.net Madoff Aides Found Guilty For Role In Massive Ponzi Scheme http://mtpr.net/post/madoff-aides-found-guilty-role-massive-ponzi-scheme Five of Bernie Madoff's former employees were found guilty of helping him fleece investors of $17 billion. They were convicted on charges of securities fraud, conspiracy and tax evasion. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 16646 at http://mtpr.net FTC Investigates Herbalife, Following Claims It's A Pyramid Scheme http://mtpr.net/post/ftc-investigates-herbalife-following-claims-its-pyramid-scheme Herbalife shares dropped on news the Federal Trade Commission is investigating the company. After shorting Herbalife's stock, hedge fund manager Bill Ackman's been lobbying politicians to investigate. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 16101 at http://mtpr.net Swiss Bank Finds Itself Under American Scrutiny http://mtpr.net/post/swiss-bank-finds-itself-under-american-scrutiny Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Top executives at one of Switzerland's biggest banks said today they're sincerely trying to prevent tax evasion by U.S. citizens. They also said conflicting laws in the two countries make it almost impossible to do that. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 15517 at http://mtpr.net Netflix Pays Comcast To Ensure Its Videos Stream Smoothly http://mtpr.net/post/netflix-pays-comcast-ensure-its-videos-stream-smoothly Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Netflix is hoping that a deal it has struck with Comcast will mollify some of its unhappy customers. The company announced yesterday that it will pay to connect Comcast's broadband network more directly. That means Netflix customers should get faster, smoother access to programs like "House of Cards." The deal could serve as a model to help the company resolve disputes with other big Internet service providers.<p>NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: With its popular video streaming service, Netflix has been growing at a dizzying speed. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 15420 at http://mtpr.net