Neda Ulaby http://mtpr.net en NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://mtpr.net/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:25:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 17638 at http://mtpr.net Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://mtpr.net/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 17035 at http://mtpr.net Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://mtpr.net/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15638 at http://mtpr.net A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://mtpr.net/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:22:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 14024 at http://mtpr.net A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://mtpr.net/post/amiri-barakas-legacy-both-offensive-and-achingly-beautiful One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 13469 at http://mtpr.net Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base http://mtpr.net/post/youtube-powerhouse-looks-beyond-its-gamer-base One of the most popular channels on YouTube is aimed toward people who play video games. It's got tons of content — thousands of game reviews, how-to videos of people gaming away enthusiastically, even little homemade movies that people have made using video-game software.<p>That last format is a user-generated phenomenon called machinima — "little m" machinima. "Big M" Machinima is a company, and it wants to be a new media empire. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 12827 at http://mtpr.net A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://mtpr.net/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 11559 at http://mtpr.net Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Most Remaining Blockbusters To Close In January http://mtpr.net/post/most-remaining-blockbuster-video-stores-close-january Blockbuster is going to shut all of its company-owned stores. Some franchise stores will stay open. At its peak, the video rental chain had about 9,000 stores. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 09:43:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 10763 at http://mtpr.net Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://mtpr.net/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 10263 at http://mtpr.net Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies New Cable Channels Try To Lure Millennials Back To TV http://mtpr.net/post/new-cable-channels-try-lure-millennials-back-tv Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, three brand-new cable channels all share the same problem. How do you persuade 20-somethings to look up from their phones long enough to gaze at an old-fashioned, regular TV? Mon, 21 Oct 2013 09:03:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 9957 at http://mtpr.net