Tom Power http://mtpr.net en New Efforts to Fire Proof Our Forests: The Initiative Built into the 2014 Farm Bill http://mtpr.net/post/new-efforts-fire-proof-our-forests-initiative-built-2014-farm-bill <p><strong>New Efforts to Fire Proof Our Forests:&nbsp; The Initiative Built into the 2014 Farm Bill<a href="#_ftn1" name="_ftnref1" title=""><strong>[1]</strong></a></strong></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 14:54:35 +0000 Tom Power 17985 at http://mtpr.net Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions http://mtpr.net/post/confusing-politics-and-economics-electric-supply-decisions <p><strong>Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions </strong></p><p></p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 14:53:42 +0000 Tom Power 17330 at http://mtpr.net The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production http://mtpr.net/post/flight-coal-us-electricity-production <p><strong>The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 14:17:42 +0000 Tom Power 16680 at http://mtpr.net Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana http://mtpr.net/post/buying-back-dams-important-billion-dollar-decision-montana <p><strong>Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p><p align="left">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; When NorthWestern Energy announced last year that it had entered into an agreement to buy back the hydroelectric facilities that the Montana Power Company once owned, most Montana’s probably smiled a little , thinking that a serious public policy mistake of the 1990s was about to be corrected.</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 22:40:29 +0000 Tom Power 15993 at http://mtpr.net Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World http://mtpr.net/post/valuing-montana-colstrip-electric-generators-strange-new-world <p align="center"><strong>Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World</strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p>NorthWestern Energy is proposing to purchase the Montana hydroelectric generators originally owned by the Montana Power Company. Montana Power sold them off in the late 1990s as it pursued a speculative dream of becoming a national telecommunication company. Instead Montana Power went bankrupt and ceased to exist.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 15:27:32 +0000 tom power 15449 at http://mtpr.net U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline? http://mtpr.net/post/us-state-department-greenlight-keystone-pipeline <p><strong>U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline?</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 16:02:39 +0000 Tom Power 14842 at http://mtpr.net The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use http://mtpr.net/post/oil-companies-self-serving-fatalism-petroleum-use <p><strong>The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use</strong></p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 16:04:55 +0000 Tom Power 13620 at http://mtpr.net Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs” http://mtpr.net/post/creating-and-destroying-good-jobs <p><strong>Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs”</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 15:58:57 +0000 Tom Power 13071 at http://mtpr.net From Violence to Non-Violence: Putting Nelson Mandela’s Contribution into a Broader Context http://mtpr.net/post/violence-non-violence-putting-nelson-mandela-s-contribution-broader-context <p><strong>From Violence to Non-Violence: </strong></p><p><strong>Putting Nelson Mandela’s Contribution into a Broader Context</strong></p><p></p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 23:57:31 +0000 Tom Power 12523 at http://mtpr.net Scaring the Political Wits Out of Us: How Important Is the Federal Deficit? http://mtpr.net/post/scaring-political-wits-out-us-how-important-federal-deficit <p><strong>Scaring the Political Wits Out of Us: How Important Is the Federal Deficit?</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 16:19:11 +0000 Tom Power 11907 at http://mtpr.net