fiction http://mtpr.net en Walt Longmire and the Morman "lost boys" http://mtpr.net/post/walt-longmire-and-morman-lost-boys <p></p><p>During this program, Wyoming author <a href="http://craigallenjohnson.com" target="_blank">Craig Johnson</a> talks about and reads from <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780143125464" target="_blank">A Serpent's Tooth</a>, the ninth book in his Walt Longmire Mystery series, which has been adapted for TV: <a href="http://www.aetv.com/longmire" target="_blank">Longmire</a> on the Arts &amp; Entertainment channel.</p><p>BOOK SYNOPSIS</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 17402 at http://mtpr.net Walt Longmire and the Morman "lost boys" Debut Novel Explores Transgender and Ethnic Issues http://mtpr.net/post/debut-novel-explores-transgender-and-ethnic-issues <p><span class="piece-description-lead">Kim Fu talks about and reads from her debut novel, <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780544034723" target="_blank">For Today I Am A Boy</a>.</span></p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 16710 at http://mtpr.net Debut Novel Explores Transgender and Ethnic Issues Loggers, Big Trees, and Pacific Northwest Indians http://mtpr.net/post/loggers-big-trees-and-pacific-northwest-indians <p></p><p><span class="piece-description-lead">During this program, Scott Elliott talks with TWQ producer Chérie Newman about his novel <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780295992808" target="_blank">Temple Grove</a>, which includes environmental, mythological, and American Indian themes. He also reads a passage from the book.</span></p><p><strong><span class="piece-description-lead">About the novel:</span></strong></p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 13:48:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 14551 at http://mtpr.net Loggers, Big Trees, and Pacific Northwest Indians Troubled Teens Become Characters In Charlie Price's Novels http://mtpr.net/post/troubled-teens-become-characters-charlie-prices-novels <p>During this program, YA author Charlie Price talks about and reads from his fifth novel <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/%5Bmodel%5D-88" target="_blank">Dead Girl Moon</a>. He also shares information about his teaching career, which included working with troubled teens.</p><p><strong>About The Book:</strong></p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 13:24:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 14023 at http://mtpr.net Troubled Teens Become Characters In Charlie Price's Novels Jamie Ford Blends Chinese American History and Fiction http://mtpr.net/post/jamie-ford-blends-chinese-american-history-and-fiction <p><span class="piece-description-lead">Jamie Ford (Great Falls, Montana) talks about and reads from his second novel, <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780345522023" target="_blank">Songs of Willow Frost</a>. He also talks about west coast Chinese culture in the early 20th century.</span></p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 18:11:59 +0000 Chérie Newman 13157 at http://mtpr.net Jamie Ford Blends Chinese American History and Fiction Book Talk with Chérie Newman, Barbara Theroux, and Zed http://mtpr.net/post/book-talk-ch-rie-newman-barbara-theroux-and-zed <p>During this program TWQ producer Chérie Newman talks with Barbara Theroux, manager of <a href="http://factandfictionbooks.com/" target="_blank">Fact &amp; Fiction Bookstore</a>, and Zed about recently-published books written <span class="piece-description-lead">by authors from the western U.S. -- fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, for adults and children</span>.</p><p></p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 18:45:59 +0000 Chérie Newman 12255 at http://mtpr.net Book Talk with Chérie Newman, Barbara Theroux, and Zed Crossing Borders with Richard Ford http://mtpr.net/post/crossing-borders-richard-ford <p>During this program Pulitzer Prize-winning author Richard Ford talks about and reads from his latest novel, <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780061692031" target="_blank">Canada</a>. He also considers character motivation, aging, the usefulness of fiction, and the many border crossings in the novel.</p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 13:54:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 11708 at http://mtpr.net Crossing Borders with Richard Ford Gwen Florio's 'Montana' Begins New Mystery Series http://mtpr.net/post/gwen-florios-montana-begins-new-mystery-series <p>Gwen Florio talks about her transition from newspaper reporter to fiction author and the process of writing her mystery novel <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9781579623364" target="_blank">Montana</a>, the first in a new series. She also reads two passages from the book.</p><p><strong>About the Book:</strong></p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 10751 at http://mtpr.net Gwen Florio's 'Montana' Begins New Mystery Series Monsters Prowl Sharma Shields' Story Collection http://mtpr.net/post/monsters-prowl-sharma-shields-story-collection <p></p><p>Spokane author Sharma Shields talks about <span class="piece-description-lead">the stories in her collection, <a href="http://www.autumnhouse.org/favorite-monster-stories-by-sharma-shields/http:/" target="_blank">Favorite Monster</a>, winner of an Autumn House Fiction Prize. She also reads two short passages from the book.</span></p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 10314 at http://mtpr.net Monsters Prowl Sharma Shields' Story Collection Bigfork Writer Creates New Mystery Series http://mtpr.net/post/bigfork-writer-creates-new-mystery-series <p>Bigfork, Montana, author Leslie Budewitz talks about and reads from <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780425259542" target="_blank">Death Al Dente</a>, the first book in her new Food Lovers&#39; Village Mystery Series.<br /><br /><strong>About the Book:</strong><br /> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:25:12 +0000 Chérie Newman 9818 at http://mtpr.net Bigfork Writer Creates New Mystery Series